Summer is Here

I haven’t had much time or energy to keep up on my blog as of the last 10+ months. Getting used to my new job as a full day pre-teacher and other demands of life has just left me with a strict schedule and little free time.

My school year ended yesterday. I’m off, entirely, for the next 2.5 months, and I have good intentions of updating and sharing more on this here blog of mine. I want to look back, like I already do, and read of past adventures, struggles, joys and sorrows . . . seeing clearly the hand of God leading our lives.

So, first off . . . my first year as a headstart pre-K teacher. I have found where I am to suppose to be for now. I enjoy the kids and my coworkers. Speaking of coworkers, I had the best there is and I’m so grateful for that! They got my stupid humor and they showed nothing but patience and grace while I learned some pretty tough ropes. Who knew the amount of paperwork involved in this venture! πŸ™‚ I was emotional on the kid’s last day, which also landed on my birthday, this past Friday. I’m already looking forward to next year and what is in store!

Next, the kids . . . my kids. Two beautiful boys. Tobias is 8 and Sam is 6. 3rd grade and 1st grade, here we come! πŸ™‚

Samuel 3/15/2013

Samuel 3/15/2013

 

Tobias 3/15/2013

Tobias 3/15/2013

 

Let’s see, what else? Oh, Justin is doing great at his new job. We are holding our breath, waiting for them to make it officially full time, but we know God is in control. We’ve had lots of fun outings. One of our favorite places to go and hike is Bull Creek, in NW Austin.

bullcreek walk on water

The trail winds in and out of woods and in and out of the creek. We sometimes just hike down the middle of the creek . . . there are wider shallow spots, like this one and deeper spots, that go to my shoulders. We hike under overpasses and trail blaze through underbrush, not seeing another person for an hour. We keep our eyes peeled for snakes, which we’ve seen, and come home with a few scrapes and bruises, but not without having a blast!

Tobias, enjoying nature's water slide.

Tobias, enjoying nature’s water slide.

There’s a part of the creek that has a small water fall. The rocks are shaped just right for little booties to sit in and slide down. The boys absolutely love it!

Samuel going over. :)

Samuel going over. πŸ™‚

You’ve might of noticed, they got summer cuts . . . sheered like sheep for the summer. πŸ™‚ We also love swimming in the pool here at the apartment. We’ve been to Barton Springs and down to Wimberley . . . which is our other favorite place to swim!

Tobias at Cyprus Creek in Wimberley, TX

Tobias at Cyprus Creek in Wimberley, TX

A dreamy place that fire flies come out and greet you in the evening, under the looming Cyprus trees. Byron runs free and the boys swim to their heart’s content. Hopefully we’ll be heading back soon . . . πŸ™‚

I love my boys!

I love my boys!

 

I’ve also, this past year, have been able to get acquainted and fallen in love with Justin’s side of the family . . . the Tucker side. πŸ™‚ We temporarily stayed with his Aunt Marilyn and Uncle Michael . . . they (and their three fantastic boys) hold a very special place in my heart! Just this past weekend I had the pleasure to finally (after 11 years of marriage) meet his uncle Peter and Aunt Rita . . . funny and a joy to talk with and be around! I also spent more time with his Aunt Kim, thoughtful and gracious . . . also a joy to talk with a hang with. And, of course, grandma Lu . . . Β the matriarch of the clan. She is soft spoken and observant. I love her so much already! I pick her up soon to go swimming with me and the boys. She has given me a tentative schedule of things she would like to do with us over this next week that she’s down visiting, and I’m glad to be a part. πŸ™‚ It’s good gaining another amazing family . . . even if it did take 11 years to make their acquaintance. πŸ™‚

Justin and Uncle Michael.

Justin and Uncle Michael.

Tobias, Aunt Rita and Grandma Lu . . . Game of Checkers

Tobias, Aunt Rita and Grandma Lu . . . Game of Checkers

 

Samuel and Aunt Kim.

Samuel and Aunt Kim.

Family trumps all . . . but I have been mesmerized this spring by the abundance of wildflowers! I have fallen in love with this area and I’m glad we made the decision to move here. I know it’s a wildly popular place right now, for people to move, and now I know why.

wildflowers . . . looks like a wild type of Hibiscus, but I actually  don't have any clue. :)

wildflowers . . . looks like a wild type of Hibiscus, but I actually don’t have any clue. πŸ™‚

 

wildflowers along one of my walking paths

wildflowers along one of my walking paths

I think I’m going to end my post abruptly. I have lots I want to share but I have all summer to share it. This is just a little of what stands out as my favorite things this past year. I look forward to scorching hot summer and lots lots of swimming! Speaking of, I’m headed that direction in about an hour. πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

